The Thyroid Cure…..

So I go the Endo and they tell me that the cure is to take a radioactive pill, kill my thyroid, be isolated in my home from everyone for three days including family, then take medicine for the rest of my life to do what the thyroid would have done. Oh and it will take 1 to 2 years to get the dosage right. I laughed and said wow modern medicine really lowered the definition of what a cure is. What are my other options? I went with option B. I’m going to try medicine first. I will take something to stablize the levels and then once they are will slowly be weaned off the medicine and see how long it will stay normal. But remember this is not a cure. Hmmmmm….. What would you have done. LOL I’m just glad to be getting somewhere i feel good about. Oh but I may develop a rash, the pills taste bad and my white blood cell count can drop rapidly. So…. Still not afraid is that crazy or what. NO wait I am crazy.

~ by Bri Clark on December 16, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
