Am I alone? What up with the smut?

I am unpublished, unsheltered, multi generely read writer, author whatever you want to call me. But before it all I was a reader. I am still a reader and I’m highly opinionated! But guess what it’s my blog so I get that luxury. I am a member of several authors websites, I will link them to the side. But my favorite at the moment is authonomy.com. It was developed by Harper Collins to “to flush out the brightest, freshest new writing talent around.” And let me tell you have they! It’s like being a member of an elite society of authors with undiminished, unaltered raw talent. But with that there are drawbacks as well.

I am not a reader who reads, regency or books of such. But upon many occasions I have found myself in the depths of a great story, bonding with the characters, walking their roads and feeling their emotions, completely engrossed in the story when BAM out of nowhere I become assaulted with words like clitoris. I’ve seen and heard worse but this is a Grated blog so I am going as technical as I can while still expressing my sentiments. Or I am caught up in a great monologue of conversation between two wonderful characters I have a great connection with only to have them throw out a totally unnecessary and obscene curse word.

Now the reason for my rant. I am a mother, a wife and a woman. I want intimacy, adventure, intrigue and excitement But I have a my ethics. Those ethics are set by two things my experience and my religion. I read the books, I’ve lived the life of those books. And then I became LDS and I live this life and I prefer it.

So when those BAMS happen I find myself in a highly moral dilemma. One that is my own. But I always consider these words, Shall I continue. And depending on whether or not I do depends on the story and how into the characters I am. But when I it is never quite the same. There is a lost connection that was once so strong. I usually skip whole chapters and sequences as a protection for my own mind. And as I read there is a sadness there. I know I will never read it again unless it is edited and I mourn for the potential of the characters and I mourn for the audience that will never know them.

I express my view to the author in a respectful but honest way. I praise them for all that I love and express my ethical view of my own opinion. For it is that all my own. But I ponder. Am I alone in my opinion? Are there other people out there that desire the intimacy of the character and the story without the explicit explanation?

Don’t get my wrong, I know that sex is going to happen. It’s not a sin. But I believe it has and can be done in a more exciting, eloquent and intimate way. I have always believed that the talent of an author lies in not telling the whole story.

~ by Bri Clark on October 26, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
