To Join or Not to Join? That was my question.

I have found myself contemplating religion. And it’s not where to go but at one time it was. Oh say about seven years ago. I had a testimony of my Savior and his love and sacrifice. But I was no member of any particular sect. My mother was not and neither were my grandparents. My husband had only a brief experience with a small church before we were married. So we were both just kind of treading water. Soon I was plagued with nightmares of my children’s spiritual welfare. And I had the greatest want to be my stepson’s mother is some official capacity. (It doesn’t get more official than in God’s eyes)

So I prayed and asked for direction. Soon the Lord answered that prayer through his willing servants and when I heard the testimony of one man asking the same thing which I had asked. “Who of all these parties are right; or, are they all wrong together? If any one of them be right, which is it, and how shall I know it?” And it really touched me. There are many denominations where I come from. And there are even denominations within denominations with words like Southern, Freewill and just adding of and something after can give you a whole other church. So to say I was confused would be an understatement.  But the Lord answered the prayers of a humbled young mother and my life and my family’s life has been richly blessed because of it.

I know that not everyone would make the same choice as I to be a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. I even had some family disown me for it. And when others found out of their choice their first questions was “Where do they go?” And that’s the wrong question. It doesn’t matter. Because one person does not make up a denomination or a religion. The doctrine, beliefs and example of that particular body as a whole make up a religion. And if people make judgements about a religion because of one person or even a family they aren’t really seeking truth. For thou should not judge and people who seek truth see past the weaknesses of man to see the strength of a Savior.

~ by Bri Clark on October 20, 2009.

4 Responses to “To Join or Not to Join? That was my question.”

  1. Fantastic post Bri! xoxoxo

  2. Hi, sorry for this offtopic question but i dont find the RSS Feed Link to add this Blog to my Feedreader. Could you please give me the URL? Thanks a lot.

    Greetings from Switzerland

    • Micheal

      Forgive my amatuer ignorance. I would be glad to give you the RSS Feed Link. Sadly I am unaware of how to. Perhaps you could tell me?
      Bri

  3. Love it! This blog is engraved forever on my heart!

Leave a Reply

 
