2nd part of Money saving blog

So I made the detergant. The recipe and instructions are in the previous blog. It took about 15 minutes of initial prep time. Then it had to sit over night. Then it took another 30 minutes to put into jugs. I washed my first load of clothes and it did really well. I think I might officially be converted now. However. I think I am going to wait until I have a large amount of detergent bottles and take the time to do a really big batch! My next review will be making my own dishwasher soap and rinse aide. I will report back later. ttfn

~ by Bri Clark on October 11, 2009.

3 Responses to “2nd part of Money saving blog”

  1. Rice Pudding
    1/2 c. sugar
    1/4 tsp. salt
    1 egg, well beaten
    1 tsp. vanilla
    2 tbsp. cornstarch
    2 1/2 c. milk
    2 tbsp. butter
    2 c. cooked rice
    In 1 quart casserole, blend together sugar, cornstarch and salt. Gradually stir in milk, mixing well.
    Microwave on high 5 to 7 minutes. Stir every 3 minutes until mixture is smooth, thickened and clear.

    Stir a small amount of pudding into beaten egg. Return egg mixture to hot pudding. Mix well.

    Microwave at medium high for 1 to 3 minutes, stirring after 1 minute until smooth and thick.

    Add butter, vanilla and rice. Stir well.

    Makes 4 servings

  2. Thanks Anne I will have to try that one. I’ve never ate rice pudding.

  3. Because I am a diabetic I use half and half for milk and then Splenda about 3 small packets, then tons of cinnamon. The cinnamon naturally lowers blood sugar. I just make them up and pour in tiny little bowls and set them in the fridge. I needed another way to take the cinnamon. I was taking the caplets but they cost a lot and at Costco they have the best cinnamon on the planet and it is cheap.

Leave a Reply

 
