Early to bed or Early to rise…..

I can’t decide which one is better. I for the most part am an early to rise kind of person. Back in TN I used to arise at 4:30 to walk and begin my day. I also was hitting the hay at around 8 or nine. But lately as I have become accustomed to Idaho’s time zone, sun exposure and general way of life I have found I can stay up till at least midnight and arise at 6:30 to get kids ready and so on. However if I am going to get any exercise accomplished I have to get up at five. But there is a sort of peace when I wake in the mornings a time to sit and ponder. It could be because the house is dark, ie I can’t see the mess I should be cleaning, or because everyone is blissfully asleep and ie “needs” me. So I sit and read in my scriptures, journal, go for a walk and listen to music. I am an overall better person when I wake up and start days like that.  So I guess I am the early bird who gets the worm as I am up with the chickens. What do you prefer?

~ by Bri Clark on September 26, 2009.

2 Responses to “Early to bed or Early to rise…..”

  1. i think what you do is the best, getting up early to prepare yourself for the day, having that time to reflect and get ready for the craziness and fun of 4 kids and a husband. that’s why you can manage because you take time for yourself and that’s what most women forget to do. if you don’t take care of yourself then you can’t take care of your family and the crap they have for you to do. because we all know, it never ends, mom this and mom that, i mean can somebody just find their own shoes for once in their life…….anyway, you do good 😉

    • I agree. And your so sentimental. The little girl isn’t gone I haven’t left her behind. I have cloned her in my daughters and as I hear them sing and play lost in their own imaginations I remember doing the same thing and it makes me smile.

Leave a Reply

 
